Skip to content

CMMC Compliance Services

CMMC Compliance Services

cmmc-left-img (1)

While not every business needs to meet CMMC standards, those that do may require support to ensure compliance. Meeting the requirements of these guidelines may necessitate that you upgrade your network security and take other measures. However, before you invest in more services that you may not need, contact us at Netlogix to see exactly what you need to do to become a Department of Defense contractor.

What Is CMMC Compliance?

CMMC is an acronym for "Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification." This certification includes a framework for cybersecurity standards based on five levels. The levels each have their own practices, processes, and focuses. Companies that meet the requirements of a specific level must also adhere to the guidelines of all levels below that one.

Practices refer to how mature a company is in their cybersecurity model. Its levels from one to five are as follows:

Level 1:

Basic cyber hygiene

Level 2:

Intermediate cyber hygiene

Level 3:

Good cyber hygiene

Level 4:


Level 5:


Processes depend on how well a company implements the practices at an institutional level and start at level one. The following are the levels for processes in CMMC:

Level 1:


Level 2:


Level 3:


Level 4:


Level 5:


The focuses indicate what a business focuses its cybersecurity on protecting. Another way to think about the focuses is how well the company's security aligns with the needs of protecting specific data.

Level 1:

Protect Federal Contract Information (FCI)

Level 2:

Transition to guarding controlled unclassified information (CUI) in level 3

Level 3:

Safeguard CUI

Level 4 and 5:

Continues to protect CUI and lower the risk of Advanced Persistent Threats (APT)

Companies seeking CMMC compliance will need extra support for building their technology and security. For instance, those in Massachusetts may need IT support in Springfield or help with CMMC compliance in Hartford.

Who Needs CMMC Compliance Services?

Any company that wants to work as a contractor for the Department of Defense (DOD) must meet the minimum level CMMC for the project. Different projects will have specific levels. Even businesses that do not handle controlled unclassified information (CUI) still need CMMC at a minimum of level one for protecting Federal Contract Information (FCI). Certification typically lasts for three years.

Is CMMC the Same as NIST SP 800-171?

The NIST SP 800-171 did not include different levels as CMMC does. Therefore, qualifying at lower levels allows other businesses to compete for DOD contracts. Additionally, the CMMC only applies to DOD contractors at this time.

One other major difference between the two is who performs an audit to determine compliance. For the NIST, companies only need self-attestation to ensure they meet the guidelines. However, to verify meeting the requirements for CMMC, a company must have an approved, third-party auditor assess their business.

Who Performs CMMC Assessments and Certifications?

Assessments and certifications are given by accredited organizations or individuals, who gain their credentials from the independent CMMC Accreditation Body. Companies seeking CMMC will need to set up a time for an assessment with one of these assessors. Ideally, before setting up an assessment, the company will perform a self-evaluation of compliance. CMMC compliance services can help with this step.

What Are the Advantages of CMMC Compliance?

CMMC compliance for even the lowest levels improves the existing security set up of your company, helping to protect your business's sensitive data from cyberattacks. Additionally, businesses that operate as contractors can compete for DOD contracts without having the highest level of security required to protect CUI and reduce APTs.

Contact Netlogix for CMMC Compliance Services and Other Forms of IT Support

Give your business the clout it needs for earning a government defense contract by letting our experts Netlogix help you with CMMC compliance in Springfield or any other nearby locations. While we don't do assessments for CMMC, we can help you to meet the requirements of the assessment for your level. By improving your network to reach CMMC compliance standards, you will also improve your cybersecurity to protect your company's data from hackers and cyberattacks.

We also offer numerous other services, so whether you want to upgrade your network, improve security, or have your data backed up for emergency restoration, contact us at Netlogix.